A. Sethumadhavan took over as Chairman, National Book Trust

A. Sethumadhavan

Shri A. Sethumadhavan took over as Chairman, National Book Trust, India on 12.09.2012. He succeedes Prof. Bipan Chandra, a renowned Historian and National Research Professor. Shri A. Sethumadhavan (b. 1942), popularly known as Sethu, is one of the pioneers of modern Malayalam fiction who broughtabout a radical transformation of sensibility through his writings during the sixties and early seventies. In a literary career spanning over four and half decades, Sehtu wrote over 17 novels and 20 collections of short stories. Many of his novels and stories have been translated into other languages. His prominent works include Pandavapuram, Vilayattam, Niyogam, Atayalangal, Marupiravi (Novels), Doothu, Chilakalangalil Chila Gayathrimar, Adyaksharangal (Short stores) and Sanidasa, Yathrakidayil (Essays). Sethu has been honoured with many awards including the Central Sahitya Akademi Award, Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award and the prestigious Vayalar award.

Three of his works have been made into films including the much acclaimed Pandavapuram, which was also made into Bengali titledNirakar Chhaya. 

After a basic degree in science, Sethu began his professional career at a very young age taking him to various parts of the country. This phase of his life was instrumental in shaping his literary sensibilities and came to be reflected in many of his important works.He joined the banking profession as a Probationary Officer in the State Bank Group. After holding many important positions in the Group, he took over as General Manager in the Corporation Bank and later as the Chairman and CEO of the South Indian Bank, a major private sector bank of the country. Widely travelled, he had attended many international conferences both on banking and literature in various countries. He was also on the board of the State Bank of Travancore for a period of three years. At present he is on the board of Malayalam Advisory Panel of Sahitya Akademi.