India do a double over Bahrain

Debayan Mukherjee

India Women 2 (Prameshwori Devi – 56th , Kamala Devi – 71st) beat Bahrain Women 0

India rode two exquisite strikes from Prameshwori Devi and Kamala Devi in the second half to register their second consecutive win against Bahrain over two International Friendlies played at the National Football Stadium in Riffa.

While Prameshwori slotted home a fine left-footer that crashed into the top left corner from an acute angle off a Sasmita Malik corner, Kamala turned on the heat with her solo effort jinking past defenders to unleash a venomous left-footer from 25 yards. This was Kamala’s second goal. She scored one in the first Friendly as well. 
The India National Team pose for a group photo with the Bahrain National Team.
Barua made one change from the team that beat Bahrain 2-1 two days ago. Premi Devi started in place of Pinky Bompal. Kamala Devi moved up to partner Bala Devi up front while Premi was drafted in the middle of the park.

Like the first match, it was India who attacked more in the opening exchanges. Within ten minutes of the first half, Bala Devi almost met Tuli Goon’s flag kick and Bembem Devi’s free kick from 35 yards went inches wide.

Bala had to be replaced in the 19th minute though after she picked up a knock. Goalscorer in the previous match Pinky Bompal came in place of her.

Skipper Tuli Goon shone on the night. Her teasing corners and accurate long balls into the area were a delight to watch. India’s first real chance came in the 40thminute when Prameshwori Devi curled her shot a tad too much from outside the box.
It was all even at half time. The second saw India continue in the same verve as the first. They kept the ball better and spent more time in rival territory. The goals had to come, and they came in the span of 15 minutes. Prameshwori scored a beauty, Kamala’s was even better! India were the better team over the two encounters, and they go into the AFC Cup Qualifiers oozing with confidence.

India: Roshni Devi; Tuli Goon (C), Ashalata Devi, Radharani Devi, Suprava Samal; Sasmita Malik, Premi Devi, Oinam Bembem Devi, Parmeshwari Devi; Kamala Devi, Bala Devi.