Dr Vinay Aggarwal honored with Healthcare Personality of the Year 2014 award

In a scintillating FICCI Healthcare Excellence Awards ceremony, Dr Vinay Aggarwal was conferred the prestigious “Healthcare Personality of the Year 2014” by Dr Pratap C Reddy in the august presence of Shri Manmohan Sarin, Hon’ble Lokayukt Delhi. Dr Aggarwal was given this award in recognition of his excellent business acumen and leadership skills inconducting several pioneering work in healthcare management, community services and resource mobilization.

Other prominent past recipients of this award include Dr Shivinder Mohan Singh – Group Chairman Fortis Healthcare, Dr Narottam Puri, Chairman NABH and Dr Mahesh Verma, Director Principal, Department of Dental Medicine, Maulana Azad Medical College.

Dr Aggarwal is currently an elected member of the Medical Council of India and President of the Confederation of Medical Association of Asia and Oceania (CMAAO, with 24 member countries). He is the only Indian medical professional in the last two decades to take over as the President of CMAAO. It was with his efforts that 20 member countries passed a resolution on the subject “Be Human – Stop Child Abuse”, to have all the countries work together under the leadership of India.

In his capacity as Secretary General and later as National President IMA, Dr Vinay Aggarwal has been instrumental in initiating many national level projects like Anemia Free India, Save the Girl Child Campaign and HIV/AIDS Program.

The campaign, Anemia Free India, was incorporated in the School Health Scheme by the Government of India. Similarly, many of his suggestions on the issue of ‘Child Protection & Child Sexual Abuse’ were included in the recently amended Juvenile Justice Act by the Government of India.

He also conceptualized a low cost model for healthcare delivery involving non–governmental general practitioners, “National Aao Gaon Chalein Project”. He coined the slogan “Each One Adopt One” and more than 500 villages have been adopted by IMA branches all over the country under his leadership so far.

His other notable achievements include ‘Family through the Child’, Developing the ‘Alcohol Atlas of India’, convening a historical Religious Leaders’ Meeting in 2001 represented by 56 religious heads and setting up of the ‘Hospital Board of India’ to bring in quality healthcare, modern management techniques and streamline the working of hospitals in India through accreditation programs. He has also been active in sensitizing the medical fraternity regarding female foeticide and PNDT Act.

Dr Aggarwal is a recipient of several esteemed awards and honours such as Dr BC Roy National Award, Chikitsa Ratna Award and DMA Centenary Award.