Who will get MCD Crown?


The MCD election is the talk of the town. As you know that last time BJP got the majority in the MCD election. But this time, the scenario has changed a lot. The condition of Congress party is also not good. The result of 5 States assembly are the latest example in front of us. The Councillors & even Senior party workers from both the leading parties (Congress & BJP) were unable to obtain the ticket from their own parties. As a result of that the stake holders are annoyed with their party leaders as well as with deciding authorities.

You can judge yourself with the views of the Delhi Pradesh Presidents of both the leading parties. “Some of my very close associates have not been given tickets, there is no nepotism” Says Vijender Gupta-President, Delhi BJP. He further added, Our party is fighting this election on ‘corruption and price rice’.

On the other hand, JP Aggarwal, President, Delhi Congress is of the opinion, “We are going to the electorate with the state government’s achievements” Improvement in Administration of MCD. The sanitation, roads, garbage disposal and improve tax collection will be the main focus.

The national reputed party like Congress, BJP, SP and BSP are majorly contesting in the upcoming MCD election which is scheduled to be on 15th April,2012. These all parties are campaigning and canvassing the community in their respective constituencies. But the main tussel is between BJP & Congress.

Mission Vote

“If you don’t vote, you don’t count”, is the punch line for the upcoming election of MCD. Almost 1,500 Resident Welfare Associations (RWA) will carry out a campaign across Delhi asking people to vote. The campaign has been designed by the RWAs in consultation with the State Election Commission. Recently, State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta unveiled a poster, with the punch line “If you don’t vote, you don’t count”, which will be pasted by the RWAs in their localities across the city.

This is a joint initiative by the RWAs and the Election Commission to encourage people to come out in large numbers and vote in the municipal polls,” said Mehta. The initiative has been taken by United Resident Joint Action (URJA), the apex body of the RWAs in Delhi. Ashutosh Dikshit, member of URJA, said over 1,500 RWAs will participate in the campaigning which will cover all the 272 wards in the city. “We will put up posters in all the 272 wards. The cost of the exercise will be borne by the RWAs,” Dikshit said. Mehta said a dismal 42 per cent voters had exercised their franchise during 2007 civic polls and the Commission would also launch a separate awareness campaign too to encourage people to vote in the civic polls.

Huge Contestants

It is also an interesting figure that 2,590 candidates have filed papers to contest the elections to 272 wards of the Municipal Corporations of Delhi. Delhi Mayor Rajni Abbi has been fielded from a general seat Mukherjee Nagar. She is canvassing through Facebook also. A total of 139 women were fielded by BJP as against Congress’ over 140.Three municipal bodies — East, North and South — will go to polls on April 15 and the counting of votes will take place on April 17.

Ignored Community

In the upcoming MCD election, the Purvanchal community is upset over its members getting just 21 tickets for the municipal polls by BJP. Seven of these candidates are sitting councillors. The dissatisfaction may hurt BJP’s chances in areas like west Delhi, Najafgarh, Mehrauli and Karol Bagh that have a strong Poorvanchali representation. Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) could further dent the BJP’s results as it has fielded Poorvanchali candidates on more than 40 seats, mostly in east, west and outer Delhi. Although in 2007, BJP had 25-30 candidates from the community.

In the 80 wards of west Delhi, Najafgarh, Mehrauli and Karol Bagh, Poorvanchalis make up 50% of the population but the BJP has given just two tickets to members of the community,” a BJP leader pointed out. The party has given them eight and nine seats respectively in east and north Delhi. Source say BJP gave fewer seats to Poorvanchalis this time as it was relying on an alliance with JD(U) to pull votes. But with JD(U) going it alone in the municipal elections, BJP is in a difficult position now, especially with other parties like LJP, RJD, SP and BSP that have a strong base in the eastern states also wooing Poorvanchali voters.
The BJP has introduced 212 fresh faces in its final list of candidates for the coming municipal elections. It has decided to repeat just 60 of its 172 sitting councillors to counter anti-incumbency. While the party has decided to drop several of its sitting councillors who were safe after implementation of the 50% reservation. There is no Congress candidate contesting from Madhu Vihar seat.

Responsibility of a Councillor:

Parking, roads, Community halls, parks, primary schools, trade license, water harvesting, Old age pension, door to door garbage collections, sanitation, etc. comes under the direct control of a Councillor. So, it is our duty to cast the vote to the right candidates only.

Now, it is matter of curiosity for one and all and it’ll be cleared on 17th itself. So, let us hope that few dedicated candidates will win and come forward to fulfill the public demand with their efficient administrative & leadership ability.

The following candidates are contesting in & around Dwarka sub city from their respective constituencies.

Ward No. Constituency BJP Candidate Congress
119 Milap Nagar Anil Sabbarwal Rahul Sharma
120 Sita Puri Usha Pawar Bimla Devi
125 Mohan Garden(W) Sudha Mishra Anju Gupta
126 Navada Balwan Singh Gahlot Deepak Kumar Rathi
127 Uttam Nagar(W)                            Shivali Sharma Manorma Kaushik
128 Bindapur Aachal Sharma Manoj Kaushal
129 Dabri(W) Rekha Vinay Chauhan Tilotama Chaudhary
130 Mangla Puri Vishakha Sailani Maya Devi
131 Sagar Pur Gajender Rajput Vishnu Pratap Singh
132 Sagar Pur(W) Poonam Jindal Gitanjali Jain
133 Chawla Deepak Mehra Raj Kumar Bahot
134 Nagli Sakrawati Rajpal Shokeen Rajvir Singh Dabas
135 Kakrola(W) Shashi Tomar Sudesh Thakur
136 Matiyala Rajesh Gahlot Rajpal Solanki
141 Bijwasan Manjit Lochav Praveen Rana
142 Raj Nagar(W) Sushila Yadav Rekha Yadav
145 Palam(W) Sarita Puniya Rachna Solanki
146 Sadh Nagar Kuldip Solanki Mukesh Bhardwaj
147 Mahavir Enclave(W) Vijay Lakshmi
Kavita Devi
148 Madhu Vihar Pawan Rathi —————