Delhi approves reorganisation of two civil districts

The Delhi Cabinet has approved a proposal for the reorganisation of the West and South-West civil districts to ensure better administrative services in these areas.

The proposal also entails the transfer of three police stations – Uttam Nagar, Vikaspuri and Janakpuri- from the West district to the South-West one.

Transfer of cases

According to the government, while the move will entail the transfer of cases filed under the respective jurisdictions to the Sessions division at the Dwarka Court Complex, criminal cases relating to police stations of Uttam Nagar, Vikaspuri and Janakpuri, which are pending in the Sessions Court at Tis Hazari, will not be transferred to the Sessions Court at Dwarka.

New police station

A new police station at Vikas Nagar will be a part of the South-West Sessions Division. Criminal cases filed at this station will be dealt with at the Dwarka Court Complex’s Sessions division. Eight revenue areas of the West district, such as Budhela, Nangli Jalib, Posangi Pur, Asalat Pur, Hastsal, Raja Pur Khurd, Nawada Mazara Hastal and Matiala, have been taken out of the Patel Nagar sub-division, and added to the Dwarka sub-division of the South-West district.

The government said that civil cases filed on or after the cut-off date, relating to the territorial jurisdiction of these areas, would be filed at the District Court Complex at Dwarka.

However, cases already filed before the cut-off date and which could not be fixed, should be adjudicated in the District Court Complex at Tis Hazari.

( Courtesy: The Hindu )