M.K. Gupta

Dwarka Forum has felicitated all the five newly elected Councilors to the South Delhi Municipal Corporation from Dwarka area. These Councillors are Rajesh Gahlot from Matiala, Praveen Rana of Bjiwasan, Shashi Tomar from Kakrola, Seema Pandit of Palam and Sudeshwati of Mahavir Enclave.

In the public interaction session, Rajesh Gahlot, Chairman, Standing Committee said that all of us have to work for the betterment of Dwarka. He said that the water problem in Dwarka is acute but this does not come under the jurisdiction of SDMC as it is under the Delhi Govt. He said that the Councillors are very near to the residents as they approach to their Councillor first instead of MLA or MP. On the demand of Forum for making the Dwarka an independent zone, he said that at present there are four zones and a proposal to increase them to six is under consideration and at that time, this demand will be considered. He was confident that within a year, SDMC will be superb corporation in Delhi informing that the Corporation will issue account numbers to the House Tax payers and has simplified and shortened the house tax form to one page only. Corporation will try to amend the Societies Act also so that Corporation can utilize some money in Group Housing Societies which at present comes under the definition of private property. He said that the policy for the lights in the district parks has been finalized and the directory of phone numbers of officers will also be released in due course. Issues of sanitation, sports, public toilets, steps to be taken to prevent of Malaria and Dengu were also discussed.

Praveen Rana, member, Sports Committee, said that the water problem in sub-city is alarming and all the Councillors belonging to this area forgetting their affiliation to the parties may meet to the Chief Minister. He will try to work for all the sectors. Shashi Tomar, Vice Chairman, Environment Committee assured that she will prove herself to the expectations of residents.

Shri Sushil Kumar, President of the Dwarka Forum stressed for the formation of Resident Ward Committee for more participation of the residents in the development work.