An impressive parade and march past by contingents from Frontiers of the Force marked the 50th Raising Day Parade of ITBP at 22 Battalion. Shri P. Chidambaram, Union Home Minister, took the salute and inspected the parade as the Chief Guest. An impressive display of ITBP Brass Band and Pipe Band, horses and dogs of Animal Transport wing was also organized.

Praising the work of ITBP Shri Chidambaram said “On behalf of government and nation I salute your courage and determination.”

Speaking on the occasion Shri Chidambaram said that government has sanctioned construction of 27 roads for ITBP to make movement to border post easier. He announced that government has sanctioned High Altitude Allowance for 43 Border Out Posts at par with Army.

He also announced that now jawans can also use hired porters and animal transport for their movement in high altitude border posts. Earlier jawans had to carry heavy loads during their movement were taking small steps is challenging in low oxygen, extremely low temperature, avalanche prone terrain.

He said that ITBP jawans spends over six months at heights ranging upto 18000ft. He said that I wish to assure you to that goal is to bring down the average posting at one of these out posts to no more than three months.

These announces by Shri P. Chidambaram will not only provide relief to ITBP jawans but also boost their morale.

Shri P. Chidambaram presented, 6 President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service and 25 Police Medals for Meritorious Service to the ITBP personnel. The proud recipients of the medals were:-

A) President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service :-
1. Dr. T. Ravi Prasad, Ex ADG (Med.)
2. Shri Harbhajan Singh, DIG
3. Shri R.K. Saini, DIG
4. Shri R.K.D. Singh, DIG
5. Shri H.S. Goraya, DIG
6. Shri S.S. Harta, DIG

B) Police Medals for Meritorious Service:-
1. Shri Dipesh Juneja, DIG
2. Dr. (Mrs) S.K. Dhillon, DIG (Med.)
3. Shri G.S. Virk, DIG (JAG) Retd.
4. Shri. Devender Singh, DIG
5. Shri S.K. Sharma, DIG.
6. Shri.Arshinder Singh Chawla, DIG
7. Shri A.P.S Nimbadia, DIG
8. Shri A.K. Negi, Commandant
9. Shri Ravinder Pandey, Commandant (Engr.)
10. Shri Rajender Singh, 2I/C
11. Shri Phurba Sherpa, 2I/C (Retd.)
12. Shri Subhash Chand Gupta, DC (Engr.)
13. Shri L.B.S. Rathore, AC (Office)
14. Smt. Damyanti Negi, AC (Edn.)
15. Shri Persinda Ram Rana, AC (SO)
16. Insp/Edn. Krishan Kumar Sharma
17. Inspector Kanshi Singh
18. Inspector Bhola Nath
19. Inspector Gajendra Singh Rawat
20. Ex. Inspector Surender Singh Gusain
21. Inspector Sate Singh
22. Inspector Ganesh Dutt
23. Inspector Raghunath Singh
24. Head Constable Vijay Kumar
25. Constable Prakash Chand
26. Constable Tsering Morup

Speaking on this occasion Shri P. Chidambaram praised the dedication, hard work and extremely challenging duties being performed by jawans of ITBP. Shri Chidambaram praised the work being done by ITBP in Afghanistan and Congo.

Indo-Tibetan Border Police Force is celebrating its 50th Raising Day and entering in Golden Jubilee year on 24 October, 2011. Since its inception it has played a very vital role in the defense of one of the toughest and highest borders where Nature rules supreme. It is now manning 3488 km of India-China Border from Karakoram pass to Jechap La.

Earlier, welcoming the Chief Guest Sh. Ranjit Sinha, Director General, ITBP informed that the primary task of ITBP is to maintain vigil on India-China Border through forward posts situated at the heights between 9000 to 18700 feet above sea level where temperature falls to minus 50 degree Celsius during winter. Majority of the posts are cut off from mainland during winters and consumption of tinned/dehydrated ration items has to be resorted to as an inescapable necessity.

DG, ITBP said that the Force is seen as champion in the fields of mountaineering, skiing and river-rafting. Its climbers have scaled 187 peaks including legendary Mount Everest, Kanchenjunga, Nanda Devi, Pancha Chuli, Mt. Kamet and Mt. Abigamin. Every year ITBP teams attempt to scale virgin peaks in Himalayas. For unparalleled achievements of ITBP in the field of mountaineering, Hon’ble President of India has awarded ITBP’s 06 officers with Padam Shree and 06 Officers with Tenzing Norgey adventure awards. This year Shri Harbhajan Singh, DIG, has been conferred with Padam Shree.

ITBP has trained Police personnel of CPOs and other states under the aegis of UN Civ Pol for UN Mission in Kosovo/Bosnia- Herzegovina, Cyprus, Sudan and other countries.

ITBP has established Counter Insurgency and Jungle Warfare (CIJW) School at Mahidanda (Uttarkashi) for imparting Jungle warfare training to personnel of ITBP and States Police.

ITBP has adopted Pegong village of North Sikkim, under AOR of 11th Bn on the occasion of Golden Jubilee year. Incidentally, it is one of the most affected village during recent earthquake in Sikkim. Rs.14,35,000 has been allotted to carry out welfare activities like installation of solar street lights, organizing sports tournaments, providing fees for coaching to the prospective players. Distribution of stationery, uniform items and school bags to children of BPL families has also been planned.

ITBP has acquired 73.1350 hectare land at Shivgangai for RTC and 7.27 acres at Lucknow. MHA has approved 29.05 hectares land at Bhopal and 80 acres at Jodhpur for establishment of new ITBP Battalions. Construction work of 50 Type-II quarters in 8th Bn Gouchar, 60 Type-II quarters in 12th Bn Matli, 24 Type-II and 08 Type-III quarters in 30th Bn Jallandhar and 12 Type-II quarters in SHQ (Shimla) have been completed this year.

DG ITBP informed that this year Kailash Mansarovar Yatra has been conducted in 16 batches from 1st June to 26th September, 2011 in which 743 Yatries visited holy Kailash Mansarover.

ITBP has established NITSRDR, a national level training centre, for the training in Disaster Management at Panchkula. During the year 2011, ITBP has conducted 14 major and hundreds of minor such rescue and relief operations and saved many precious lives. In the recent earthquake in Sikkim ITBP saved thousands of lives and provided shelter to more than 500 victims.