Praful Patel elected President of AIFF

Mr. Praful Patel was unanimously chosen as the President of the All India Football Federation in the Annual General Body Meeting held at the Football House, the Headquarters of the All India Football Federation on Thursday (December 20, 2012).

(From left) Justice SK Agarwal, Ms. Radhica Sreeman (Observer on behalf of Govt of India) and Mr. Mun Si Song, AFC representative
The AGM and the Elections were held in the presence of Ms. Radhica Sreeman, Observer on behalf of the Government of India (also the Regional Director, SAI); Mr. P. C. Makholia on behalf of the Sports Authority of India; Mr. Mun Si Song, representative Asian Football Confederation and Dr. Shaji Prabhakaran, FIFA Regional Developmental Officer, South and Central Asia. FIFA Consultant Monika Staab was also present on the occasion. Justice S. K. Agarwal, a Retired Judge of the Delhi High Court was the Returning Officer.

Justice Agarwal, who was appointed the Returning Officer in AIFF’s last Executive Committee meeting (on November 20, 2012) in November, declared: “The Election have been held in consonance with the Sports Code guidelines and the AIFF Constitution at the same time. All nominated persons for the post of Office-bearers and Executive Committee members were elected unanimously. I declare all of them elected and would like to congratulate them.”

Mr. Praful Patel addressing the AIFF AGM
Thanking all the affiliated members, AIFF President Mr. Praful Patel said: “I express my gratitude to all for keeping the faith in me. The AIFF has been trying its best to live up to the expectations of the players, spectators and all other stake holders.”

Mr. Kushal Das, the General Secretary of the AIFF mentioned the Elections were held as per the Spirit of the Sports Code. “The guidelines relating to age and tenure have been fully complied with. I would also like to mention, that contrary to the recent reports, the AIFF did circulate the Electoral College well in advance on November 23, 2012,” Das said.

Das also highlighted the achievements of AIFF in 2012 including the initiatives taken for setting up of Youth Development Programmes (Academies), Grassroot Programmes and Coach Education Programmes.

FIFA Consultant Ms. Monika Staab, who was also present made a presentation on Women’s Football. “I have gone across India and have to admit the passion among the girls in exemplary. The future of Women’s football looks bright for sure,” she said.

“Think big, start small, do it now,” she stressed in her presentation.


Mr. Praful Patel (Re-elected as President).
Mr. Shrinivas V. Dempo (Vice-President, West).
Mr. K. M. I. Mather (Vice-President, South).
Mr. Subrata Dutta (Vice-President, East).
Mr. Subhash Chopra (Vice-President, North).
Mr. Larsing Sawyan (Vice-President, North-East).
Mr. Hardev Jadeja (Re-elected as Treasurer).
Mr. Amit Ranjan Dev (Re-elected as Executive Committee Member, West).
Mr. Franco Miranda (Executive Committee Member, West).
Mr. A. R. Khaleel (Executive Committee Member, South).
Mr. Menla Ethenpa (Executive Committee Member, East).
Mr. Ghulam Rabbani (Executive Committee Member, East).
Mr. Sunil Bharadwaj (Re-elected as Executive Committee Member, North).
Md. Shamsuddin (Executive Committee Member, North).
Mr. Ankur Datta (Executive Committee Member, North-East).
Mr. Ranjit Roy (Re-elected as Executive Committee Member, North-East).