The official logo for the second tier football club competition of India – the Second Division League – has been introduced by the All India Football Federation.

The competition started in 2008 and has been the feeder to I-League – the top flight football club competition of India – with the promotion of teams like Chirag United, Shillong Lajong FC, ONGC FC, as well as recent winners Royal Wahingdoh FC.

The I-League operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Second Division League. While Mohammedan Sporting were relegated from the top flight to the Second Division last season (2013/14), it made the way for Shillong dark horses Royal Wahingdoh to get promoted to the top flight.

The tournament this season begins on March 29, and it features a mouthwatering battle at the Kanchenjunga Krirangan in Siliguri on the opening day with a battle between two strong Kolkata outfits – Mohammedan Sporting and United SC.

SSB Ranidanga in Siliguri will also host the matches for the first leg of the tournament, along with Kanchenjunga Krirangan. The second leg of the tournament (Round 8 to 14) will take place in Golaghat, Assam. The fixtures of which will be revealed later.

While there will be only one team getting relegated from the Hero I-League this season, only one out of the eight teams will be promoted from the Second Division League as well at the end of the season.