AIFF meets for Annual General Body Meeting

 The Annual General Body meeting of the All India Football Federation (AIFF) was held at the AIFF Headquarters, Football House in New Delhi on Monday (March 19). The President of the All India Football Federation Mr. Praful Patel chaired the meeting in the presence of AIFF General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das, Vice-Presidents, Mr. Subrata Dutta, Mr. Ankur Datta, Mr. AR Khaleel and Mr. Venod Sharma.

The Executive Committee members of the AIFF and members from all the Member State Associations (except Arunachal Pradesh) and other stakeholders were also present as was Dr. Shaji Prabhakaran, FIFA Regional Developmental Officer for South and Central Asia; representatives from AIFF’s Marketing partners and invitees from sponsors.

Mr. Praful Patel, President All India Football Federation addresses the AIFF Annual General Body Meeting in New Delhi
In his address, Mr. Patel stressed on laying a solid foundation which would take Indian Football to the next level. “We need to have a comprehensive Youth Development Programme which would guide us in the right direction,” he said.

“The Regional and the Elite Academies are going as per schedule,” he added. “Coach Education stays an integral part of the Curriculum.” “2011 was an eventful year for Indian football. Besides India winning the SAFF Championship, the U-16 boys made it to the final phase of the AFC U-16 in Tashkent, which is commendable indeed. I also congratulate the U-13 girls for winning the AFC U-13 Football Tournament in Colombo recently,” Mr. Patel opined.

Mr. Kushal Das announced that a new U-19/20 National Level tournament would be held every season from now on. Dr. Prabhakaran made a presentation titled ‘Performance’ which stressed on Professional Football Management.

A minute’s silence was also observed prior to the start of the meeting in memory of former Internationals and Office administrators — Mr. Sailendra Nath Manna, Mr. K.V. Varadraj, Mr. A.S. Firoze, Mr. M.A. Sattar, Mr. Bobby Hamilton, Mr. Arjun Bikram Shah and Mr. Ejaz Hussain, all of whom passed away.