S.P.Gupta appointed as chairman Animal Welfare Board of India

Mr.S.P.Gupta former IAS officer from Haryana cadre has been appointed as chairman Animal Welfare Board of India ; Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change , Govt. of India, a high profile and most prestigious Board in the World functioning for animal care and welfare as government institution vide a notification dated 8th December 2017 w.e.f 6thDecember 2017. Animal Welfare Board of India (AWBI), the first largest body of any kind established by any government in the world, was established for the prevention of cruelty on animals, board comprise 28 members including – Chairman, Vice Chairman, Inspectors General of Forests, Animal Husbandry Commissioner, Rep of Miny. of Home Affairs, Rep of Miny. of HRD (Education), 4 MPs – Lok Sabha, 2 MPs – Rajya Sabha, Humanitarians, SPCAs, AWOs, Rep. of Indian Board for Wildlife, Rep. of Indian Veterinary Assn., Rep. of Indian Medicine, Rep. of Allopathic Medicine, Municipal Corporations etc.

Gupta is also hailed as the Architect of Gurgaon for his contribution to the development of the millennium city while working as the Chief of Haryana Urban Development Authority (HUDA) Gurgaon.

Born on 4th December 1949, SP Gupta worked for more than 35 years in the administrative service in the field of urban development. He is a well-known face in the field of Infrastructural Development i.e. Urban Development, Housing, Land Acquisition, and Agriculture with special emphasis on Organic Farming, Animal Husbandry with special reference to Cow Wealth Protection and Samvardhan, Environment & Forest, Regulatory and enforcement functions. He is been awarded several prestigious National and International awards. He is a founder President of international NGO “People Voice”. He has fully devoted himself to the protection of cows and is looking after Kamdhenu Gowdham at Mewat Haryana.

Recognizing his dynamic personality and work toward the welfare of Animals, Government of India appointed Gupta as the Chairman of the AWBI. After Major General Kharab as the Chairman of AWBI last year following a bitter dispute with the Government over the issue of Jallikattu, Ministry of Environment, Forest, and Climate change had given additional charge of Chairman AWBI to DG Forest. Now the Government has issued the fresh order paving way for the SP Gupta to be appointed as the new Chairman of AWBI along with three new members, Dr. Prakash Amte, Rakesh Gupta and Anjali Gopalan.