Aadharshila appeals to Government to honor Jeetendra, Mumtaz, Tanuja, Rishi Kapoor, Juhi Chawla, Shammi Kapoor and Dara Singh with Padma Awards

Aadharshila – a group of writers, journalists and artists has congratulated and appreciated PM Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh, for making Padma Awards, a transparent process. Also it has appealed to Indian Government to honor Jeetendra, Mumtaz, Tanuja, Rishi Kapoor, Juhi Chawla, Shammi Kapoor and Dara Singh with Padma Awards. Mr. Pradeep Sardana, a senior journalist, noted film critic and President Aadharshila has written a letter to Honorable President, Prime Minister and Home Minister and suggested the Government to remember some great Film artists, for this year of Padma Awards, who has given their utmost contribution to the art. Still these dignitaries have not been honored even with Padma Shree, so Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan are far away.

Mr. Sardana has also written that Indian Government has honored 2679 people in total, with Padma shree awards, from the year 1954 till 2016. But in these 62 years, there are many film dignitaries who have been ignored to be honored with Padma Awards, but should have awarded long back. These include wrestler and actor Dara Singh, and actor popular for his unique style Shammi Kapoor, who had unfortunately left the world, without being honored. Well known senior actor Jeetendra, Mumtaz, Tanuja, Rishi Kapoor and Juhi Chawla have been far away from this big national honor. However many artists who have been much junior and ordinary, had been honored with Padma Awards.

The symbol of power and strength and the one who has defeated all the national- international wrestling champions, and became the world champion, known as Rustam-e-Hind Dara Singh is a true Bharat Ratna, but the Government has always ignored him. Dara Singh has acted in 215 films and directed 7 films, from the year 1952 to 2011, and contributed widely to Indian Cinema as well. And the role of Hanuman, played by him in TV series ‘Ramayana’, requires no words to explain his popularity in Indian Television. He had been Rajya Sabha MP from BJP, as well.

On the other hand, the Indian Government has been very generous to Kapoors, the biggest family of Indian Cinema. PrithviRaj Kapoor, Raj Kapoor and Shashi Kapoor had been honored with Padma Bhushan Awards, and had been honored with Dada sahib Phalke Award as well. But two more gems of Kapoor family- Shammi kapoor and Rishi Kapoor has not been awarded with Padma Awards yet. The contribution of Shammi Kapoor has been important because he had transformed the traditional image of an Indian hero. Since 1953, he has done memorable roles in almost 100 films in his career span of 58 years. Also, Rishi Kapoor has completed more than 43 years in Indian Film Industry. He has started his career in 1973 with the film ‘Bobby’, and has given many memorable films in his entire journey till now of 130 films. Now, the senior film star Jeetendra, 74 years old and has done 175 films in his career span, starting from 1959. He has been also known for the new revolutionary change in Indian Television, with his production banner Balaji Telefilms. Veteran actress Tanuja, 72 years old, has done more than 100 films, since 1952. Besides this, most charming actress Mumtaz, who is now 69 years old, has done about 100 films, since 1958. On the other hand beautiful and graceful 48 years old Juhi Chawla, has done around 100 films, since 1986. But they all have been far away from Padma Awards. 

If the Indian Government will honor Jeetendra, Tanuja, Mumtaz, Rishi Kapoor and Juhi Chawla with Padma Bhushan or Padma Shree, along with Posthumous Padma Honors to Dara Singh and Shammi kapoor, then it will not only rectify the ignorance done by previous Governments, but will also spread the noble message to the people.

About Aadharshila-

‘Aadharshila’ has been dedicated to promoting and giving honor to art, culture and artistes since 1982. Many artistes presented or awarded by Aadharshila have achieved name and fame in their respective fields. Some of the most notable Aadharshila awardees include Ustad Bismillah Khan, Birju Maharaj, Anil Biswas, Tarachand Barjatya, B.R. Chopra, Ramanand Sagar, Surendra Pratap Singh, Kamleswar, Ashok Chakradhar, Surendra Sharma, Devki Nandan Pandey, B.M.Shah, Shubha Mudgal, S M Jaheer, Asaawri Pawar, and Saroja Vaidynathan. ‘Aadharshila’ has also been active in preserving arts that has become endangered and giving the honor to the artistes who keep them alive.

The stage of Aadharshila has been honoring the great artists of their respective fields with Aadharshila Awards. And the dignitaries who grant these awards include Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, Sh. Chandrashekhar, Sh. Indra Kumar Gujaral, Sh. H.K.L Bhagat, Dr. Sahib Singh Verma, Dr. Bhai Mahavir and Dr. Karan Singh. Aadharshila has been actively working to safeguard the endangered arts and artists, and helping them to get their deserving honors.