Science behind Indian National Flag

Dr KK Aggarwal
Padma Shri and Dr B C Roy National Awardee
President, Heart Care Foundation of India

The Indian National flag is representation of the rich Vedic heritage of India. Different colors with a chakra in the center are the gist of Vedas. The flag consist of three colors; the top one saffron (orange), middle white and the lower green. In the center of the white color, there is a chakra with twenty four lines.

For spiritual awakening one needs a combination of inner happiness, spiritual knowledge and protection from the evil.

Apart from that, one needs to learn to concentrate on the present moment awareness. This is true not only for individual but also for a family, community or nation as a whole.

The color saffron or orange is a representation of enthusiasm, wealth, inner happiness and vigor. Traditionally all GODS in India are shown to wear yellow clothes. Yellow is also the color of Sun. It is also the color of beautiful blooming flowers representing agriculture status of the country and agriculture as the main source of income. The color yellow also represents one of the three Goddess, ‘Lakshmi’ representing inner happiness. It also reminds an individual that he is capable of doing anything in life. It thus reminds him of his inherent qualities and also of his existing strength and vigor.

The color white is symbolic representation of Saraswati, the Goddess of knowledge. It also represents the color of Cow, the Universal Giver, and of the color of Milk which is a complete food by itself and represents pure Satwa. White is also the color of swan that is ridden by the God Brahma, the Creator. Swan has a typical quality of removing water from milk mixed with water. It signifies ‘vivek or discrimination’ which helps removing negativity and selecting positive things in life. The color white also means the path of truthfulness and purity.

The color green indicates protection, safety, security and greenery. It tells about the status of the country being free of pollution. Green plants give oxygen to the atmosphere, which is life-giver and protector as oxygen protects life.

The central chakra means hard work, meditation, concentration, contemplation, etc. as without hard work, nothing is successful in life.

The whole flag signifies that India is full of people who are hard working and sincere in their efforts and are keen in acquiring pure Satwik spiritual knowledge through hard work and self-protection. The flag also represents the 3 Goddesses of India – Laxmi, Saraswati and Durga. Laxmi represents wealth; Saraswati represents knowledge and Durga the protector.

One Response

  1. Anonymous